In Other News: Goodbye, Andrae

Here’s a true thing: the first time I ever watched RuPaul’s Drag Race, it was to see Santino Rice.

I was in college for Project Runway season two, and I fell completely in love with designer Andrae Gonzalo. While Santino was busy getting his zany-villain edit, I saw him mostly as “the guy who agrees with me that Andrae is the most precious creature ever born.” Santino won me over with his Tim Gunn impersonations, and when Andrae was eliminated, I moved over to Team Santino. This isn’t a “fifty reasons why I love Santino Rice” post, but suffice to say, I went through a Santino Rice phase, one that eventually brought me to RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Lifetime is running Project Runway All-Stars right now, and Andrae was sent home tonight. While it was a fair and from-a-mile-away elimination, it still broke my heart a bit. Bye, Andrae, our little lamb.

Leave a Reply

